The History of our farm
Situated in the southeast corner of Washington County, Lakota’s Farm spans 19 acres and features peaceful, pastoral vistas, a stream leading into 2 spring-fed ponds, 8 barns, and a historic homestead. Originally part of a massive 1,000 acre property established in 1772, the farm has a rich history.
According to local historians, Lakota’s Farm was owned and started by James T. Green in the late-18th century. James and his brother Thomas came from Ireland about the year 1772, and established their homestead located two miles north of Cambridge, now the Town of Jackson . The pioneer dwelling was more than likely of the log type—the present Greek Revival house followed some time around 1789. The property just to the west of our house at the corner of routes 62 and 372 includes a section that is part of an old log house from our homestead. The Green farm was so large it partially laid into Cambridge encompassing over 1,000 acres of land.
Thomas Green had 6 sons, the latest recorded entry from a 19th century reference: “the latter son is still living, at the age of 92 years, on his father’s homestead.”
There were many pre-Revolutionary settlements in this area; Scotch-Irish and New Englanders. Most of the farms near us were owned by Scotch-Irish families who came in the 1760's. Lakota’s Farm was one of the largest and oldest homesteads in southern Washington County, the farm was once home to a working dairy operation.